Posted by: asprockett | April 17, 2013

A Different Angle on a Very Sprockett Date Night

It’s like stepping into a movie when you step onto the train platform at night at Circular Quay. The lit up city is your backdrop with the Harbor Bridge to your left and the Opera House to your right and, often enough, a cruise ship pulling out of the cove as it makes its way to its next destination. That was the scene as Dan and I made our way to attend our first non-Nutcracker, non-dance recital ballet at the Sydney Opera House.

I started dreaming about attending a production (any kind would do!) at the Sydney Opera House at age 13 when my neighbor (more accurately described as my sister), Elizabeth, was selected to participate in People to People and traveled to Sydney. I credit Elizabeth for my trips to Spain and Italy in high school because the day she pulled out of the driveway on her way to Australia I was so insanely jealous that I started saving half of my allowance and half of my babysitting money to one day be able to travel. And four years later, I had saved enough to participate in a school trip to Spain and later an incredible senior year spring break to Rome with my good friend Audrey and her family.

I am still awed at the serendipity of finding right-priced tickets to no less than the ballet of Don Quixote. The combination of affordable tickets at the Opera House to the literature changing, Spanish novel (which I have both read and studied in school…and visited the statue commemorating the novel in Madrid) with a husband up for adventure meant I was actually able to live this dream that was so many years in the making.

I am very excited to be in the Opera House holding a ticket to attend Don Quixote.

I am very excited to be in the Opera House holding a ticket to attend Don Quixote.

Upon arrival at the Opera House we learned that, in a very Australian way of celebrating community and connection, drinks and hors d’oeuvres are available with time to mingle before the start of the production. Although, to be honest, I had a bit of a hard time processing the gathering because I was still reeling from being inside the Opera House. We had to remind ourselves several times during the night that this is our normal life now.The ballet was very accessible since the Opera House kindly provided a plot summary of each act. And the Australia Ballet performed a beautiful combination of what uneducated ballet attenders (us) think of as “traditional” ballet with an exhilarating combination of jumps, lifts and groups of dancers. I absolutely did not think we would giggle or outright laugh at a ballet, but the character of Gamache, the rich nobleman, was downright hilarious.

A photo from inside the Opera House, looking toward the Harbor Bridge.

A photo from inside the Opera House, looking toward the Harbor Bridge.

I will be continuing to watch for opportunities to attend another Opera House performance because this was truly an experience that I will remember.

Leave a Reply

Categories

