Posted by: asprockett | February 10, 2013

Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarship

“Well…happy birthday!” my husband said. “It looks like we’ll be moving abroad.”

I got the call on my birthday notifying me I had been selected as the 2012-2013 Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar to represent Northeast Ohio’s District 6630. Talk about a birthday gift! I had learned about the scholarship through a Rotarian family friend, latching onto the idea of pursuing studies in an international environment with the support of an organization that encourages international goodwill through service. Rotary felt like the perfect match to allow me to go back to school to earn my Master’s degree in International Public Health, a path toward which I have been working for more than 10 years. Although I would never have predicted that this path would lead me to the University of Sydney, Australia.

Just this week I chose my classes. After days of reading the course handbook, making lists of classes, discussing the options with my husband and re-reading the course handbook, I made my selections. The difficulty in choosing my courses (since I wanted to take everything offered), reinforces that I am in the right field. I’m looking forward to getting started in studies that will lead me to a career that combines health and service through proactive international public health administration, policy and program development.

In addition, I am charged with the responsibility to promote international understanding and friendly connections among people of different parts of the world as an Ambassadorial Scholar. Sharing ideas and experiences in a global context is an opportunity and a challenge to which I look forward. My husband and I will begin this journey at the end of February, exploring Australia, participating in and leading international service, and pursuing studies and work.

But most importantly, I must say thank you. Thank you to the Rotary Foundation and the generous Rotarians worldwide who have provided this opportunity. Thank you to my husband for supporting this path and moving to the Southern Hemisphere with me. Thank you to our family and friends who continue to give us love and encouragement. Here we go!

Leave a Reply

Categories

